sunday crafternoon

On Sunday, I had a bunch of my local lady friends over for a “crafternoon.”  The intent was to give everyone a few hours to dedicate to a craft project of their choosing or to just learn something new.

As is my way, I was worried about how it would turn out, but it was great!  There was a good combination of people who just worked on their own thing, people who wanted to learn something new, and people who were both.

I had a few Smitten Kitchen nibbles prepared for the occasion.  Deb’s cheese straws get my highest encouraging recommendation for your next social occasion.

Here are some crafty visuals:

Painting wood cross-sections with chalkboard paint while wearing a necklace of felted wool beads.

Little blocks of paint and pages of text and collage-y bits culminating in adorable, whimsical little pieces of art.

Knitting.

Needle point.

Wrapping bangles with fabric.

I had been wanting to try out the felted beads for ages, so having an afternoon set aside for this express purpose was really satisfying.  And it’s just so much funner to try out new things with someone else, isn’t it?

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Friends and other Humans, Nifty things, Up to Stuff

2 responses to “sunday crafternoon

  1. Seriously? You know I’m a craft-lover, right? I mean, I was scrapbook obsessed for about 10 years. So wish there wasn’t a continent between us.

  2. Pingback: Blog | AsziChild.com » gettin’ crafty up in here

Leave a comment